The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   English saddle fit HELP (with photos!) (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/english-saddle-fit-help-photos-221130/)

SnowCowgirl 06-26-2013 09:43 PM

English saddle fit HELP (with photos!)

9 Attachment(s)
I somewhat-recently acquired this saddle (a certain someone on this forum may recognize it!). But, here's the problem. While it certainly fits her better than my old saddle, does it REALLY fit okay?? I'm unfortunately a long ways from anyone who could help me in person and so online help is my only option. I'm new to my area and seriously, seriously doubt that there are any "saddle fitters" within a 300km radius.

I hope the photos are okay...

I'm worried that it's too narrow in the gullet. Also, there is a SLIGHT amount of bridging (less than a centimeter for sure) but I've read that this isn't necessarily a bad thing due to the flexibility of english trees as well as the rising of the horses' back during riding. It does side to side slip on her back a little bit at the canter when doing circles, but every saddle I've ever had on her does this. I don't know if I'm putting way more weight in one stirrup or what... should try without stirrups and see. I've also had other people lease her who commented on how much their saddle rolled around.

I want to take a saddle fitting course or at least have a pro look at her someday but until then, hopefully you guys can all help me!

The last photo of just her is after riding so you can see where the saddle settled. I also attached a pic of MY butt in the saddle... do you think it fits me?? It feels big... and also I feel like my crotch bumps into the pommel more than it should while posting hahaha. Keep in mind that I've never had a riding lesson though so who knows what the heck I'm doing up there (lessons is another thing that is on the to-do list...)