The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   Scared to post this :( (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/scared-post-221770/)

evilamc 06-27-2013 07:33 PM

Scared to post this :(

My trainer moved away a few weeks ago, so I'm attempting to work without one for a month or two...soooo tear me apart! I already know my arms......are terrible....I didn't realize I had them that straight, this is my first time recording myself :(.

Hopefully you'll see a few good things and not all bad!

KatieQ 06-27-2013 08:09 PM

I am not too good at this but I will take a stab at it! Your seat looks okay, and your posture although your shoulders need to loosen up and come back a little. Turn your wrists so your thumbs are on top and bend your elbows. He looks like a nice little horse.

farmpony84 06-27-2013 08:24 PM

I'm not the best critique-er so I'll stick to minimum response. You look like you are very stiff in the arms, they almost looked like they are locked at the elbow. Are you trying to release w/out lengthening your reins or is that just a habit? It doesn't look like you are hard on the mouth or lugging at the bit or anything, your horse looks mad at the flies though!

Your horse also appeared to bend towards the outside on the straight of way and almost looked gimpy a few times, not sure if that was my eyes playing a trick on me or not.

It looks to me like you are heading in the right direction though. I'm interested to see what other folks come back with on a critique.

evilamc 06-27-2013 08:46 PM