The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Jealous Horse Friends? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/jealous-horse-friends-223242/)

WesternTale 06-30-2013 05:04 PM

Jealous Horse Friends?

Anyone have any of these? I have a quite a bit... Since theres only 1 riding barn in a 45 minute radius that charges quite a bit. And lets just say im not exactly "poor". But it comes to assert me that a lot of people give me the cold shoulder when i talk about horses with my friends, even some of my friends will do it. Now, i barely bring up my riding, ill only talk about it when someone else brings it up for that exact reason. I take my friends riding with me quite a bit, and then they will tell everyone else and it all comes back to me as people try to say im "rubbing it in their faces by having a horse" Which i dont understand. Im a sophomore so i thought people would be more mature about everything now but apparently not...

Anyone else have problems like this?

Skyseternalangel 06-30-2013 05:10 PM

The old adage goes "rich people have horses" which isn't true at all. Given any income one can budget something they really want. Sure they may need two jobs and not going clothes shopping for a few months, but they get what they want.

A lot of people, including my boyfriend, were very on edge when they found out about Sky. They immediately thought of me as rich and snooty and spoiled. But as they got to know me, they realized that wasn't the case.

Like you, I don't really bring up Sky unless someone asks about him. I find that they respond better if I leave it up to them instead of talk about him allllllll the time (which I do with my horse gals lol)

Maybe the way in which you talk about your horse comes off as insensitive to them. Maybe they see it as bragging.