The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Endurance Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/endurance-riding/)
-   -   What to pack on short rides? (http://www.horseforum.com/endurance-riding/what-pack-short-rides-223346/)

TrailDustMelody 06-30-2013 08:26 PM

What to pack on short rides?

Hi! I'm new to the forum. I'm also new to distance riding. I've had my arab mare for a few years but just lately started officially conditioning for distance. There are a few issues for us as far as getting up to a 25 mile ride, mainly her age (18) and us not having a trailer. :P But I figure that we'll do the best we can and see where we can go. :)

So I have a pretty good tack setup...comfy saddle, breastplate, roomy cantle bag, etc. but I'm not sure what I should be packing for my rides. Right now I bring a bite and sting kit (we're in rattlesnake country), pocket knife, small 'human' first aid kit, lead rope, fly spray, and a pear/carrots/something that my horse and I can both eat. I also carry my phone in a case attached to my belt. Right now, we ride 4-5 miles on the trails and roads behind our property. Does this sound like adequate packing, or are there other things I should bring? (I'm trying to find a water bottle that fits in my bag without leaking.)

Thanks!

Dustbunny 07-01-2013 12:49 AM

A small mini sanitary pad and enough vetwrap to get around a leg as a bandage. A copy of ID in case you and the horse part company. A dog tag with your name and phone # works too. This will help someone return the horse.

Keep the following on you, not in a saddle pack:
A copy of you health ins. card and name, address & phone and a note stating med. info in case you are not conscious.
A whistle on a cord. That sound carries!

And welcome to the forum!

phantomhorse13 07-01-2013 09:12 AM

I second the suggestion of some sort of bandaging materials. You never know when something unexpected is going to happen and its much better to carry it and not need it.