The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   New to Horses (http://www.horseforum.com/new-horses/)
-   -   How to gain trust from a new horse (http://www.horseforum.com/new-horses/how-gain-trust-new-horse-224178/)

coIZIco 07-01-2013 08:51 PM

How to gain trust from a new horse

I have some experience with horses but not a lot. I have only really been around well trained horses. Recently my neighbor has given me permission to go over and work there horse for them because they never get to anymore. The only problem is, is that I don't think the horse respects me. When I go over to feed them on occasion he nips at me and tries to chase me out of his stall if I stay too long. I was planning on going over to see if I could at least lunge him for some exercise but I don't know a good way to put a halter on him in the safest way. I can't really ask the neighbors because they are out of town so I was hoping someone on here could help me.
Thank you.

dlady 07-01-2013 10:11 PM

I would go take a few riding lessons first. In these lessons you will learn how to tack up a horse. Once you take a few lessons and is comfortable around horses, you can get some extra riding time on your neighbors horses. Don't show any fear or nervousness around them, they will pick up on that and use it to their advantage.

Palomine 07-01-2013 10:39 PM

Neighbor should be giving you some tips, instead of just throwing you in this then.

And you don't "gain trust", you demand respect by your attitude, and handling, and then horse will "trust" you...

But need lessons, and don't know why you are staying in stall too long and for what?

Sharpie 07-01-2013 10:56 PM