The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Writing a horse story and need help... (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/writing-horse-story-need-help-22433/)

horsewriter 02-11-2009 07:50 PM

Writing a horse story and need help...

I'm a writer and a horse-lover. Sadly, I haven't been around horses much, if at all, in the last 15 years. Growing up, though, 99% of the books I read were horse stories. I rode when I could, both western and english, and I'm familiar with which end is the rump and which end is the muzzle. I also know about hocks and withers and picking hooves and that horses have one of the best smells on the planet. :wink:

This is where I need your help: I've undertaken to write a story where the MC, as a teenager, owned and showed her own horse. Which is something I pretty much know nothing about.

So I have some questions:

How advanced would her riding skills be by 16, if she's taken regular lessons for the past 7 or 8 years? I don't intend for her to have been headed for the Olympics, but I'd like to see her have been winning some ribbons and trophies, etc. at local shows and maybe even some bigger ones. Would she be considered an "intermediate rider", for instance?

Also, what's it like for girls who participate in shows? I imagine they're riding every day or every other day and they've got a show schedule planned for the summer, etc.? And if someone could give me synopsis of how a show day would go, that would be so helpful! :D

Her family is well-to-do and own a big house in the country with a pool and a tennis court and all that. I imagined her keeping her horse on the property and a private instructor coming to give her lessons, but am unsure if that would be realistic.