The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   New to Horses (http://www.horseforum.com/new-horses/)
-   -   I'm riding my first horse this friday : ) (http://www.horseforum.com/new-horses/im-riding-my-first-horse-friday-225450/)

Tobias 07-03-2013 03:03 PM

I'm riding my first horse this friday : )

I am super exited and can't wait,though I am a little afraid since I'm new to the whole thing.

What r the pros and cons for a beginner?

any advice u guys have would be appreciated!

kenda 07-03-2013 03:05 PM

Welcome to the Forum!

What kind of ride are you having? A lesson, or a trail ride?

Either way, listen closely to your instructor/guide, relax and have fun!

Tobias 07-03-2013 03:10 PM

I think it's a trail ride

Undante 07-03-2013 05:16 PM

wear comfortable pants!!

amberly 07-03-2013 05:41 PM

Pro's:
it is a ton of fun
if you don't like trotting or you think it is too rough, go into a lope. At the beginning of summer two years ago I was deathly afraid of trotting because I was afraid I would bounce out of the saddle or something. Now I can't stop loping because it is just so dang smooth and beautiful!!

Con's:
you won't be that experienced - so maybe have someone ride him and warm him up before you get on. My horse Golley, is now going to be used by my friend. Golley doesn't fight you and he always wants to please you. I was warming him up for my friend because she isn't good with horsesyet. Anyways - I was riding him and right as I was going into a lope, He bucked. From then end of the arena to the other end. It was scary but fun at the same time.

Make sure to wear a helmet too!! Always wear boots around horses. Ride in long but comfy pants.
Don't let the horse invade your space, drag behind or get too far ahead when you lead him.
Groundwork him first before you get on so he is listening to you on the ground. If the horse isn't listening to you on the ground - there is no way he will listen to you on his back.