The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Legs falling asleep while riding??? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/legs-falling-asleep-while-riding-229609/)

RiverBelle 07-09-2013 04:16 PM

Legs falling asleep while riding???

Hi there! I have been riding off and on for most of my life. I had always rode in one saddle and it was a bit too big and the stirrups a bit too long, but I did okay in it for the time being. When I had to chance to get a new saddle, I took it. I have had my saddle I currently ride in for about 6 years. It fits my butt better, it fits my legs better, and it fits my horse which is a plus. All around, it's a great saddle.

But after I started riding in this new saddle, my feet begin to fall asleep after the first... 10 minutes of riding? I have the ball of my foot on the stirrup, and my heels down (like I always have.) I don't push down really hard on my stirrups and I don't push out. My trainer when I was taking lessons always praised me on my leg placement. So does anyone know why my legs are falling asleep while I ride?

I don't currently have pictures of me riding/leg placement/ etc but if needed I can get some tomorrow. Thanks!!

Saddlebag 07-09-2013 05:46 PM

I'm wondering if you're pressing on nerves/blood supply in the bottom of your feet? What about footwear? Are they too tight in the ankle area?

Boo Walker 07-09-2013 06:13 PM

Is the saddle broken in / stirrup leathers turned? My husband rides in the wider trail stirrups with the Cashel brand stirrup turners and his knees and ankles stay comfortable and no more tingly legs!

Skyseternalangel 07-09-2013 06:30 PM

Western or English?

RiverBelle 07-10-2013 12:40 AM

I ride western, always have.

The stirrups and fenders are well broke in, so they shouldn't be turning my feet or anything like that. I thought of that a while back so I made a point to turn my stirrups and make sure they weren't stiff.