The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Eventing (http://www.horseforum.com/eventing/)
-   -   When to take jumping position (http://www.horseforum.com/eventing/when-take-jumping-position-231754/)

showjumperachel 07-13-2013 12:32 AM

When to take jumping position

Hi all!

I have been riding horses for about 10 years now and have worked with several different trainers. I have been with one main trainer the whole time (she allows me to work off my lessons and ride whenever I want), and have taken many other lessons with a couple of other trainers. Lately my trainer has been REALLY harping on me to take two point way before the jump, and it is just something I really don't agree with, especially if we are approaching it from the trot. In my opinion, I feel I get too far out of the saddle and it leaves me feeling unbalanced and in a precarious position (AKA I WILL topple off if the horse bucks or refuses). When cantering courses I like to stay in my half-seat position (I'm not sure if people use half-seat and two point interchangeably, in my brain they are two different things) and rise up slightly as the horse jumps. Especially when it comes to going cross country, I feel like I should keep my shoulders back and really sink into my lower leg to have the most secure position possible.

The other trainers I have ridden with never said to take two point way before the jump, but then again I was riding different horses in their lessons. My current trainer has more of a hunter background, while the other trainers I rode with had more of an eventing background. I really want to event in the very near future, so I'm more inclined to listen to what they have to say.