The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Advice on switching disciplines? (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/advice-switching-disciplines-232706/)

KansasPrincess 07-14-2013 04:11 PM

Advice on switching disciplines?

I've been riding Western since I was four years old. I'm sixteen now, and I've really been wanting to experience what English is like. I already have lessons set up with a local instructor, beginning next Tuesday, but I need some pointers.

First off, what do I wear? For Western, I can hop on in about anything. The traditional is jeans and cowgirl boots, though. Do I need to purchase paddock boots and breeches?

I'm hoping that eventually I'll be able to compete. I haven't decided exactly what I want to get into, but I'm leaning towards dressage or jumping. My instructor doesn't have any jumpers though, so that would come later.

This is like a whole new world to me... But I'm excited. Any tips on how to best succeed in this new decision is much appreciated!

NaeNae87 07-14-2013 10:09 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by KansasPrincess (Post 3055994)
I've been riding Western since I was four years old. I'm sixteen now, and I've really been wanting to experience what English is like. I already have lessons set up with a local instructor, beginning next Tuesday, but I need some pointers.

First off, what do I wear? For Western, I can hop on in about anything. The traditional is jeans and cowgirl boots, though. Do I need to purchase paddock boots and breeches?

I'm hoping that eventually I'll be able to compete. I haven't decided exactly what I want to get into, but I'm leaning towards dressage or jumping. My instructor doesn't have any jumpers though, so that would come later.

This is like a whole new world to me... But I'm excited. Any tips on how to best succeed in this new decision is much appreciated!

Hey KP, welcome :)