The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Eventing (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/eventing-23292/)

horscrazi 02-25-2009 03:15 AM

Eventing

OK i have this problem. This is going to make me sound really novice like but I have been riding for many years and I have only ridden western, i only know those rules and things. my question is: wat are the breed rules for showing ( dressage show jumping)
i am about to adopt a retired race horse and i own an un-papered 17 yr old arabian/quarter horse, is it a special thing to only have pure bred horses or wat and is a retired race horse ok for eventing?
yes yes i kno hard to train but i have trained mustangs...i think ill be ok.
thanks for helping and well hi! lol
:)

Miss Katie 02-25-2009 04:28 AM

Yes, many ex racers go on to be fantastic performance horses. I dont know the details on registering performance horses in America, but you dont have to have breed papers.

eventnwithwinston 02-25-2009 07:44 AM

In Eventing, there is not a specific breed you have to show on. My horse a retired race horse and he is making a great eventing horse so far.

They don't have to be purebreds, some of the best eventing horses are grade horses or mixed breeds. Take Theodore O' Connor. He was a great eventing pony who competed at the 4* level and is a mix of 3 to 4 different breeds.

Have fun,
Eventing is a blast :)

StormyBlues 02-25-2009 10:19 AM