The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeding/)
-   -   Colostrum (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeding/colostrum-23626/)

Brumby 03-02-2009 10:13 AM

Colostrum

My horse foaled! This is my first time and I need some help. The foal is nursing, but I think (might just be me being over cautious :D) it is having trouble. I have some powdered colostrum on hand and I was wondering if it would hurt anything to give it to him? I don't see any reason that it would just thought I would ask.

alldun 03-02-2009 12:51 PM

I don't think it would hurt at all

mls 03-02-2009 01:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by alldun (Post 262587)
I don't think it would hurt at all

Actually it could do a lot of hurt. If the foal is getting the nutrition it needs from the mare and you add the hand feeding, it could be too rich and cause scours/diarreha as the body is trying to clean out the excess minerals, etc it does not need. Also if the foal is being hand fed, it may stop nursing and the mare will stop her production of milk.

Diarreha in a new foal can result in deyhydration very quickly and death.

If you are unsure if the foal is getting enough nutrients from the mare, please have a vet experienced with neonatal issues examine the foal. There are blood tests that will specifically give you the foals status.

Angel_Leaguer 03-03-2009 09:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mls (Post 262596)
Actually it could do a lot of hurt. If the foal is getting the nutrition it needs from the mare and you add the hand feeding, it could be too rich and cause scours/diarreha as the body is trying to clean out the excess minerals, etc it does not need. Also if the foal is being hand fed, it may stop nursing and the mare will stop her production of milk.

Diarreha in a new foal can result in deyhydration very quickly and death.