The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Dressage (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/)
-   -   Needing advice about softening a stiff horse (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/needing-advice-about-softening-stiff-horse-239074/)

helena 07-23-2013 05:19 AM

Needing advice about softening a stiff horse

Okay I'm not really a beginner rider (I have been riding for over 6 years) but me and my horse have never really enjoyed dressage (mainly because neither of us are that good at it). A few nights ago, I decided to give this dressage thing a good go. My horse is almost 18 and he would much rather speed around a show jumping course, he gets a bit sore around the saddle area and he is an Arab/Clydesdale/Station-Bred and something else haha. He is quite good at dressage when he tries but usually he gets bored really quickly and so I give up. So I've figured out a good way to begin softening him. I tried side reins on him tonight and he responded to that well but he usually begins to run away underneath me so I try half halts. If you have anymore tips to stop that, please tell (: in around 2 weekends time I am trying a little baby dressage test to get over my nerves and get some feedback. Any tips for confidence and overcoming nerves in a test? And any good warm up exercises and any on-the-ground ones to soften him up around his hindquarters and shoulders. Would be amazing, even if you can just answer one (: thank you so much, and feel free to pm me or something to get more detail. Thanks again, Helena x

CandyCanes 07-23-2013 05:25 AM

You should do carrot stretches to increase flexibility. If you don't know how to do them or what they are, here is a great link:
Stretching Exercises for Your Horse

Also, lots of circles and serpentine's are good. To soften your horses stiffer side, do lots of small figures of eight in walk and trot.

helena 07-23-2013 07:18 PM

thank you!!! (:

GeorgiaAndFelix 07-24-2013 05:36 PM