The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Natural Horsemanship (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/)
-   -   Need help for horse whispering project (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/need-help-horse-whispering-project-24241/)

Funkyhorse 03-13-2009 03:12 PM

Need help for horse whispering project

Im a student in college doing a project about horse whispering, but for my research i need YOUR help!

I would like your opinions on horse whispering, and any success stories on how it has helped abused horses. If you could give me any first-hand accounts on what you have done to help a horse using these methods i would love to hear about it.

Thanks!

:-)

chelssss(: 03-14-2009 09:58 AM

I love these topics! my thoroughbred was abused, starved, and neglected before i adopted him at a rescue. the farm he was raised at was complete turmoil. the man would only feed him and the other horses when he felt like it, and didnt train, ride, or even pay attention to him. and when he'd do something his owner didnt like, he'd beat him.
I strongly believe in natural horse "whispering". Of course you have to be a very patient person and you have to have the soft touch. Horses listen to baby talk. Its almost like they dont respond to just normal speaking that we do, i use baby talk with Bayberry. He responds and he makes eye contact with me, and it seems like he's listening, he moves his ears like he's trying to listen, so it works for me.

At the rescue, the owner Elle said he doesn’t listen to anyone in the saddle so be careful, he was known to fight and just be aggressive, and well what do you know, we walked, trotted and cantered, and jumped. and Elle told my dad he's NEVER listened to anyone like he had with me. and that told me that he could be helped, and not as scared. it took alot of bonding, we're still working on some things, but he's a perfect example, that everything is worth the time.