The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   Barefoot in MN? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/barefoot-mn-24508/)

MN Tigerstripes 03-18-2009 10:48 AM

Barefoot in MN?

I have been trimming my horse's hooves for about a year now. My friend taught me a little and I self-taught the rest. I think I'm doing an ok job (at least the horses seem happier). But I would like to find a barefoot trimmer to come out and take a look or trim them once for me. The problem I have is I only know of one person in MN and she charges like $150.00 per horse and I've heard that the horses are foot sore after she comes out for awhile. Is this a normal price? And does anyone know of any natural trimmers in MN or a good farrier who won't poo-poo the natural hoof trimming?

Thanks

manhirwen 03-18-2009 10:52 AM

I can get my horses feet naturally trimmed for as low as $25 a horse here in OR, but personally I'd go with the guy with the good reputation in the area for $35 a horse. I'm not sure why that person charges so much, might just be the area I guess but it seems kinda high to me who can find good farriers for little to no cost.

barefoothooves 03-18-2009 05:14 PM

Have you looked on the EasyCare site? THey have barefoot trimmers and farriers listed (kinda like a classifieds section, so it doesn't mean they are endorsed by EasyCare). Or try here: The Horse's Hoof, News for Barefoot Hoofcare on the side bar they have a trimmers list, but some are more Strasser type trims (and are more invasive and likely to cause soreness) That is probably why the $150/horse trimmer is allegedly making them sore, seems there are more Strasser trained trimmers in the North/Eastern parts of the country. You would probably want a Ramey type trim or Jamie Jackson, they are not invasive.

$150? Dang, I need to move up there! I charge $30 and get odd looks sometimes!

MN Tigerstripes 03-18-2009 06:15 PM