The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   Cantering my Horse. (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/cantering-my-horse-24608/)

kaykat31 03-19-2009 08:17 PM

Cantering my Horse.

This is me & my horse,Georgie.He was orginally a Western horse & did barrel racing & team penning & was really good at it, I guess.He won lots of awards for it.Then, about 2 years ago I got him & I ride English, I started training him english walk/trot & I just started cantering him about a week ago & some jumping.Feel free to critique, I love to learn.

morganshow11 03-19-2009 08:41 PM

Looks like you are rocking with your bum. Try to rock with your back and not your bum.

With every stride your horse takes, it looks like your knees keep pionting outward.

JustDressageIt 03-19-2009 08:44 PM

Cute horse!
If it's possible, try and get your horse working through his back in a frame; right now he's completely tensed up and you can see the huge musscle bulge he has from keeping his head high in the air. You might want to speak to a riding instructor about this as it does affect your horse's soundness and movement.

The one thing that jumped out at me was that you're poppint out of the saddle and landing on his back; try to really sink into your knees and heels and keep your butt glued to the saddle. To do this you need to be limber in your lumbar (lower) back and really follow your horse's motion through the canter; think of being on a swing and you have to really push your seat into it to keep it going.
Keep your shoulders back and chest out, but don't hollow your back either. Think of there being a brightly painted star on your chest that you want to show off - roll your shoulders back, and keep your chin up!!

Good for you for wearing proper riding attire!! Makes me very happy to see!

Hope that helped!

JustDressageIt 03-19-2009 08:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by morganshow11 (Post 273490)