The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   Joint Supplements (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/joint-supplements-24641/)

LuvCaesar 03-20-2009 12:15 PM

Joint Supplements

Hello Everyone. I have a 16 year old Thoroughbred who used to race and he has some mild arthritis...I can hear him popping and cracking sometimes while riding him. I was wondering if any of you have some recommendations for a decent joint supplement that one, seems to make a difference and two, doesn't break the bank.

He doesn't do any heavy duty working just our family riding horse but I don't want him to be in pain :-( and if I can do something to help that I will.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Tammy

CJ82Sky 03-20-2009 01:26 PM

I'm not a supplement expert, but my friend terry is - she started EquiSupps.com and i'm sure would be happy to give you suggestions. If you go to her site, you can email her for more info, and her prices are really affordable - she also prepackages them but in baggies so its smaller and takes less room. I tell people she's like smartpak, but cheaper lol and also donates part of the proceeds to the Arabian Rescue Mission, and has a TON of knowledge since she's worked with so many horses and rescues she does an aweosme job with the supps.

Hope you're able to find something that works for you!!! :)

eventerdrew 03-20-2009 02:09 PM

I love Corta-Flx pellets for my 17 year old OTTB mare. She has done great on them and I have used them for 3 years. When she was in competition and needed a little more support, she was on Adequan injections but now that she is not in work and is retired, she gets the Corta-Flx.

luvs2ride1979 03-20-2009 11:32 PM