The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   New to Horses (http://www.horseforum.com/new-horses/)
-   -   Possible First Horse (http://www.horseforum.com/new-horses/possible-first-horse-246665/)

autumnheart 08-02-2013 01:17 PM

Possible First Horse

I may be purchasing a horse. I'm looking for a horse that can be my friend, in a way. I enjoy the small tasks such as grooming, petting, even cleaning stalls, and my focus isn't just riding. I want to build a relationship. Yes, I want to be able to ride the horse. But nothing serious, I won't be competing, I won't be riding 24/7. Just casually, and I like to trail ride. I also ride English and have never ridden Western before, although I would be open to doing such. I would say my level is experienced beginner or a beginner-intermediate. I've been riding horses off and on for 10 years (lessons, leasing, etc.). Nothing too advanced. I also don't want to spend a boat load of cash for my horse, either. Maybe up to $2000? I'm not exactly sure.

With all this in mind... I thought I would post some links to horses I am finding in my area and get some opinions from more experience folks on here?

To start, I've found two horses on CL.
#1: Gorgeous dun quarter horse gelding
#2: Beautiful Palomino Walking Horse- Video

TessaMay 08-02-2013 01:26 PM

Another place you might consider looking for horses is local rescues. I know I work with one here in WA that has great horses of all levels for adoption, who have all been vetted, rehabbed and re-trained where necessary and in general they are around $1,000 to adopt. I'm sure there are rescues in your area, you might want to check them out :-)

Just make sure that you find evidence that they are a valid, reputable rescue, with the horses' best interests involved. Just like with dog and cat rescues, there are some bad apples out there unfortunately :-(

SlideStop 08-02-2013 01:43 PM