The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   All you hunters out there!!! (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/all-you-hunters-out-there-24965/)

Hoofprints in the Sand 03-26-2009 01:00 PM

All you hunters out there!!!

Sandie and I just started learning to jump, and I'm very interested in showing with her, in the hunter ring :-) Can all you hunters out there give me any advice/information about being a hunter?? I know a limited amount about this discipline, as I've mainly been trained in dressage up until now...any info/advice about the different classes at shows, what to expect, differences between hunter and dressage as far as equitation goes, would be greatly appreciated!! THANKS! :-)

Hoofprints in the Sand 03-26-2009 01:23 PM

Also, what do you think about the way Sandie moves - do we look like we'd be a good pair as hunters? :-) I know we need some polishing, neither of us have shown before and we're both a little green! But with the basics, I mean, what do you think?!

koomy56 03-26-2009 01:58 PM

In the Hunters judges look for style. It's about how beautiful and easy you can make the course look like. They want a horse with a consistent pace, & very rhythmical. Not pokey in one line, and blasting down another. Everything should remain the same, and if corrections should be made they're invisible. Flying lead changes will be necessary to teach your horse as you progress, but in lower level hunter classes there are alot of horses who don't have them yet. They are expected as you move up. Your horse needs to remain straight, no zig zagging around the course. :) Your turnout should be flawless, everything neat and tucked up. No hair fly-aways, everything clean & polished. Your horse should be clean and tidy, and if the show calls for braiding then you can braid, but if its a schooling show then just a nice, well groomed mane and tail will do.
Here is an example of a nice hunter round: