The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Colors and Genetics (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-colors-genetics/)
-   -   TWH Changed Color? Maybe? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-colors-genetics/twh-changed-color-maybe-250674/)

BadWolf 08-07-2013 06:35 PM

TWH Changed Color? Maybe?

2 Attachment(s)
I'm not very good at uploading photos the way I want, but I'll give it a go and see if it works.

My TWH has seemingly changed color.
His papers list him as black.
He was black when we got him.
He stayed black for months, no stall, no blankets, without fading.

In the past couple of weeks, however, he has been looking more bay-ish and there's stripes in his coat (which may or may not be clear in the photo). It looks kind of like a brindle dog, right around the stifle/belly/flank area.

I am completely unfamiliar with adult horses (he's 5) changing color, so if anyone has any info on this, I'd appreciate it. Maybe he isn't *actually* a black horse after all...

Photo 1 should be a shot taken in the weeks right before we got him, est. November or December 2012. He's standing by a gate. (old color.jpg)

Photo 2 should be a shot taken earlier this week, August 2013. He's halfway under the run-in, but he's mostly still in the sun. (Color.jpg)

Red Gate Farm 08-07-2013 06:39 PM

On my computer, he doesn't look black in the first photo. He looks brown. In the second he looks bay.

DraftyAiresMum 08-07-2013 06:46 PM

He's brown.

See the lighter areas on his soft points (under his flank, elbow, by his eye, around his muzzle, on the points of his butt under the tail)? Those are classic signs of a brown horse.

Also, seasonal coat color changes are a hallmark if brown horses. How long have you owned him?

Many many MANY brown horses are misregistered as bay or black because their foal coat color looks like one or the other. Genetically, they are very close, so it's understandable.
Posted via Mobile Device

BadWolf 08-07-2013 06:57 PM