The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   Jumping :) (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/jumping-25344/)

Vicizmax 04-02-2009 04:14 PM

Jumping :)

Here's two videos from my jumping lessons on Indy!
The january one is with my "old" trainer and the March one is with my new trainer..! Please critique both videos..! I have a competition on sunday, so it would be nice to get some advice and stuff.. :)

January: Januar: Spring på Indy - HesteGalleri.dk
March: Marts: Indy - HesteGalleri.dk

equineeventer3390 04-02-2009 09:46 PM

Im not really good at critiquing from videos but I see 1 really big thing.
your catching you horse in the mouth really bad over the jump. In alot of them you seem to be getting left behind and your catching him in the mouth.
The ones where you didnt get left behind, it still seems like you have a tight hold on his mouth. it doesnt really look like your hands are moving any. push your hands forward up his neck about half way, or a little less since their only x-rails.

draftlover215 04-03-2009 01:59 AM

Okay, in the first video I noticed that you do not have much of a release on your horse. You want to give with your hands more over the fence. I'm not sure if he's a very strong horse where a crest release would be too much but definatly give him more of a release over the fences. Every once in a while it looks like you are leaning back a bit with your upper body, remember to keep a nice, straight line of shoulder, hip and heel.