The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Western Pleasure (http://www.horseforum.com/western-pleasure/)
-   -   zig zag walking (http://www.horseforum.com/western-pleasure/zig-zag-walking-255314/)

luvbeach 08-13-2013 09:48 PM

zig zag walking

What am I doing wrong that makes my horse zig zag while we are walking. It is usually when we first get started out on our ride. He sorta goes a little to the left and a little to the right and back and forth. I feel like I spend the first 10 minutes of our ride straightening him out. Keep in mind when you answer that I am a beginner so please explain in basic terms that I might understand.

usandpets 08-13-2013 10:37 PM

How well trained is the horse? Is the horse barn or buddy sour, meaning that he doesn't like leaving? Is he used to the area or are his surroundings new, as in you've moved him? How long have you had him and have been riding him?

It is not unusual for horses that are green(training wise), not familiar with the surroundings, or don't like leaving their buddy or barn, to weave. If you are a new owner or new rider to him, he very well might have trust issues. Weaving is basically resisting or trying to avoid going forward. I would bet he tries to rush back also. That is normal too.

You won't change him over night but he should get better in time. Be firm that he follows what you ask of him. Correct him when he doesn't.
Posted via Mobile Device

DancingArabian 08-13-2013 10:38 PM

A number of possibilities come to mind. Does it happen with others too? How about when he's not being ridden?

- The horse could have a physical issue that is causing him to walk like that. The horse should be looked over for pain and perhaps evaluated by a vet for a neurological issue.
- The horse could be unbalanced and trying to adjust to you.