The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Other Equines (http://www.horseforum.com/other-equines/)
-   -   I need help training a 1 mo. old donkey (http://www.horseforum.com/other-equines/i-need-help-training-1-mo-255810/)

Papa 08-14-2013 01:26 PM

I need help training a 1 mo. old donkey

I need help training a 1 mo. old donkey. I'm new at this and could use all the help and advice I can get. So far she will let me hand feed her carrots and rub her all over. Her mother was miss treated somewhere in the past, But will also let me scratch her ears ( when she want's to) I have never done anything like this and could use your advice. When I go outside they both come running to me (I realize they associate me with food, but it is a very good feeling :) The mother won't let anyone else come close to her but me.

Thanks
"Happy Trails & God Bless"
Papa :wave:

NdAppy 08-14-2013 05:29 PM

Right now just keep doing what you're doing in short 5 minute bursts. She is just a baby and you don't want to do too much to fast as you can over stimulate/cause problems later by going to fast now.

Papa 08-14-2013 06:21 PM

Thanks NdApper, No I don't want to hurt her or tire her out. I feel I have come a long way with her & her mother. Neither one would have anything to do with "Anyone" when she was born. I guess it will just take time. Now they both seem to trust me. Ok thanks for your help.

Papa

"Happy Trails & God Bless"

littrella 08-14-2013 06:47 PM

get her use to having her legs rubbed. If she will let you, pick each one up for a few minutes. It will help get her ready for the farrier

Papa 08-15-2013 11:12 AM

Thanks,
I'm new at this. I hadn't thought of that :)

KatieQ 08-15-2013 09:53 PM

Also it is imperative that you post pictures on here ASAP, especially 1 month old donkey pictures!!!

Blue Smoke 08-18-2013 02:44 AM