The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   Jumping Critique! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/jumping-critique-258602/)

Bluemoonlvr 08-18-2013 04:32 PM

Jumping Critique!

Hey guys! I'm a working student at a really nice hunter show barn. This is a horse we are training at the moment. He use to jump so hard that he would jump professionals out of the tack. But here is a course that we did. And one of the oxers are 3'. Please critique me and the horse :D

Oxer 08-19-2013 12:31 AM

i don't ride hunters... hell, i don't even like hunters... but that horse is a hunter all day long! What a nice, even, quiet, canter he has through your entire course. Just hunting along, very very lovely. If he's brave, and gets some nice clean changes, he will be able to do the A circuit.

You rode really quite accurately. These fences are far apart, oddly placed, and there's lots of room for you to mess up and micromanage your horse to the base... but you didn't do that. You let him lope up to the fences at a nice, quiet pace, and the distances appeared. Kudos to you!

I might only have a couple things to critique. I personally think your irons should go up a hole. Your leg looks a little reachy to me. And my only other thing would be to watch your chest in your 2 point. Riders now-a-days have a tendency to lay their chest all over their horses necks. i'm not saying your doing that... i'm simply saying to watch it, cause your 2 point seems a little over exaggerated for this height.

Either way... Lovely ride. Lovely horse.

alexischristina 08-19-2013 04:43 AM