The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Sharing my progress (after 8 or so lessons?) (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/sharing-my-progress-after-8-so-260386/)

Fayewokf 08-20-2013 09:27 PM

Sharing my progress (after 8 or so lessons?)

I crawled myself back to my original barn I started riding 15 years ago, and I'm fairly certain that I will stay here. I like my trainer , not my absolute favorite out of all, but overall, I like this barn and her the best.

My legs are coming back, or I should say rebuilding the strength. I'm not flopping like a rag doll anymore, I'm pretty sure it can use more work, but it wasn't as horrible as before. I pretty much have my left leg under great control, my right is still quite a disaster, but I'm working on it.

I know people here say stay away from a barn that let you canter the first lesson, but I guess I've done it before, so they let me, and I looked balanced and not like I was about to get booted off? I actually cantered in a group lesson and that might be slightly dangerous because you really need to be able to slow down, make circle , cut across arena etc. I quickly remember how to do all that in one lesson.

So far, I've been working on keeping my right heel down, left is good,
Trainer said my body is still a bit stiff, working on making it relax, smooth, but strong. She said like a ballerina , soft and fluid, but they are strong.