The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Calf Manna?

29K views 21 replies 6 participants last post by  Lori1983 
#1 ·
I picked some Calf Manna up at the store last week, because I noticed it has vitamin supplements and linseed (which I think is another name for flax?). I am trying to "bulk up" my mare, and I had flaxseed recommended to me. Also, even though a 25# bag was a little pricey, it says I only have to feed a pound per day. Annie (my horse) doesn't really like it, so I mix it with a pound of sweet feed. I don't really like sweet feed, though (but, lol, Annie sure does...).

First of all, what do you all think of Calf Manna? I have never used it before, but for the past week I have been giving her a pound of it per day. I *think* her coat seems shinier, but maybe I'm imagining it...anyways, how is it as a supplement, from your experience.

Secondly, would you recommend getting her to eat the Calf Manna another way, or is 1 lb. of sweet feed not really significant for an approx. 1,000 lb. horse?

Thanks!

#2 ·
it is an all stock vitamin mineral supplement similar to a ration balancer but it is not balanced to an species... it would be cheaper and healthier to get a ration balancer like Kent's Horsego32,Purina's Enrich32, Triple Crown's TC30%

the calf manna also has a fairly high NSC :)

#4 ·
Yeah, I was concerned about that...I usually prefer Kent feeds, and they're super easy to get around where I live. Does the Horsego32 have the flaxseed, also? I am having the hardest time finding flaxseed by itself...people in the feed stores look at me like I'm a buffoon when I ask for it. :)

I thought Calf Manna was a brand not a product...like I use Calf Manna Opti-Zyme a probiotic. What else is on the bag?
Good question...it's the one that PeggySue is referring to ^. It's just the allstock one, a ration balancer (sorry, don't have the bag in front of me).

#5 ·
#6 · (Edited)