The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Gaited Horses (http://www.horseforum.com/gaited-horses/)
-   -   Please help me with my Standardbred (http://www.horseforum.com/gaited-horses/please-help-me-my-standardbred-265545/)

jeffj6609 08-28-2013 11:30 AM

Please help me with my Standardbred

I am new to Standardbreds and am trying to figure out how to fix a problem. My horse is a 7 year old Mare that has been trained to singlefoot. She singlefoots really good at low speeds but when she speeds up above around 10 mph she starts to get a skip in the rear end. She speeds up to around 20 mph but it sounds and feels like she is walking with her front legs and running with her rear legs. As of right now she is keg shod. I have tried riding her different ways and changing bits but that didnt work. I really dont know what else to do. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

caglover 08-28-2013 12:34 PM

What type of bit are you using?

Are you trying to get some "Speed Rack" from her?

greentree 08-28-2013 12:45 PM

Are you sure it is not a pace? Pace is smooth at slow speeds, but rough when it gets faster, and 20 mph is pretty dang fast!!

Nancy

jeffj6609 08-28-2013 03:20 PM

Yes speed racking is what I'm looking to do. I have used a regular snaffle with short shank and a standard curb bit with low relief. I just purchased a twisted loose ring snaffle im going to try on her tomorrow.

jeffj6609 08-28-2013 03:22 PM

Yes I am sure its not a pace. It sounds like a run but it is not. Almost a run but not. And 20 mph is nothing against the ones that are doing 30+ lol.

Idrivetrotters 08-28-2013 03:27 PM