The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Confidence in experience/lessons (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/confidence-experience-lessons-26818/)

horseloverd2 04-26-2009 10:33 PM

Confidence in experience/lessons

I am sure you have seen my stupid little rants on how terrible of a rider I am. (Sigh... :-| I'm a bit overeactive) But this is seriously a big thing for me. My whole life is revolved around horses and just to think I'm bad/mediocore isn't exactly comforting. So I am going to give you the lowdown on my horsey doings and give me an honest (but tactful) answer:

I think I started riding about 5 years ago. That was trail rides and such. Four years ago I really took in interest in the actual art and went to my first horse camp. I trotted and stuff, never cantered. First time riding, so obviously not. Then I went on trail rides again. They were kinda long so I did gain some experience in them. But they were only trail rides. And then I went to another camp and rode. My instructor told me (and the whole group) we were helpless riders and she just didn't know what to do with us. That was a little bummer. The next year I went to two horse camps to gain the experince. One was saddleseat, so it doesn't count. The other we did not canter and jumped no more than 6" jumps. So after that summer I took lessons. They were Western and paid 30.00 for walking/trotting around an arena for 25 minutes. No/little instruction. We just rode and played games. *Groans at the babyishness of the whole thing* And then I finally got Dakota. :D I had little experience. Never really cantered. Never really jumped. (except those little 6 inch things)

NOW I jump 26" bareback and have galloped roughly 30-35 miles an hour bareback on a horse that hates stopping (good times) I trained a very green horse to a nice gentleman. (Well most of the time) All of this was of course self taught.