The Horse Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Building Topline/Muscle in 10 yr old Thoroughbred

6K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  showjumperachel 
#1 ·
Hi all- yesterday I had a saddle fitter come out to ensure my saddle was fitting correctly. I have recently purchased a 10 year old 16hh untracked thoroughbred mare. Previously I had been riding this same horse for a solid 4 years. We mainly plot around hunter style, do some jumps, nothing major. I ride typically once every two days, possibly three, for 30-60 minutes, and she is stalled for the rest of the time outside.

The first thing thr lady said was that my horse was "ribby." She has always been able to see ribs but has a big belly (see pics). I told her I didn't think she was underweight. She changed her mind later and said she just has no muscle (I don't agree completely, although she could build more) and that I just need to transform her fat to muscle.

So I later went on to figured out how to build the topline. We have no hills to ride up, but I saw muscle builder on smart packs and was planning on getting the pessoa training (lunge) system to help per her in frame and get a consistent lower headset workout without rider interference. Does anyone have any recommendations? Would the pessoa seem elementary for her since she is 10? I am able regularly to get her in a low head set when riding but apparently its doing nothing.

Any comments regarding the Pessoa system (or other devices) and generally topline building recommended. Also we don't have cavaletties.

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
#5 ·
Nope, I love gadgets if they're used the right way for the right things. The Pessoa system is not something I'm very familiar with and I liked reading that website as it wasn't 'advocating' it, but giving a good description of the mechanics behind some gadgets! Some of the gadgets I thought were ok, we're not! Lol!

#6 ·