The Horse Forum banner

Trick training gone wrong

10K views 84 replies 30 participants last post by  Nokotaheaven 
#1 ·
I want to trick train my horses so I started with what I thought would be a simple easy trick, teaching him to give me "kisses" I always kiss my horses gently on the nose and they never have a problem with it. I trained my gelding to do this trick and he caught on to it in about two minutes and started doing it on command with a clicker. I had someone make a video of him doing this and I noticed he would sometimes pin his ears while he "kissed" me and then release them after the click. I didn't think much of it, but the next day when I started practicing the trick again he did it at first but them he reached up and bit me on the chest. Any idea why he did this? I'm guessing maybe he started thinking that he was making me give him treats by nudging me with his nose and became dominant? He isn't a mean horse and hasn't bit me before. I won't be doing the trick anymore, but I would still like to know why he may have decided to bite me and why the ear pinning while learning the trick? I assumed he should be having fun since food was involved.
Posted via Mobile Device

#4 ·
Yes it did shock me a little bit. I haven't had him very long but I always hand feed him treats and he takes them very gently and nicely. He is also very very interested in people. Constantly following any humans around and interested in what they are doing so I thought he would really enjoy trick training. I'm just thankful he didn't bite my face because he came really close. I'm starting to think he might have some food aggression?
Posted via Mobile Device

#6 ·