The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Member Journals (http://www.horseforum.com/member-journals/)
-   -   M's Riding Lesson Journal (http://www.horseforum.com/member-journals/ms-riding-lesson-journal-270921/)

Marcie 09-04-2013 10:16 PM

M's Riding Lesson Journal

I have been taking lessons since early May '13 and it seems like a good idea to keep track of what I am doing and when I'm doing it. :) Progress tracking ftw :D

Background: I loved horses as a kid but aside from the random family trail ride at an entertainment venue I didn't have an actual lesson until I was in about 9th grade or so in high school. I took dressage lessons for a few months in the summer until my family moved out of town.

Fast forward 15 years and I still thought they were beautiful animals. I started playing the sims and joined a forum for horse 'shows' and the people on there gave me the confidence to try riding out for real. I have to say horses are much different than Little Marcie thought they were. And I'm glad I'm doing this as an adult who can see that you kind of have to treat a thousand plus animal like they are a toddler, having to be firm and keep at them to do what they are supposed to do! Lol! I would never have 'gotten' that as a lovestruck teen looking for a mystical connection haha. So, I am where I am and starting where I can.

Marcie 09-04-2013 10:59 PM

After looking around at stables online I happened across an ad on Craigslist that sounded promising. Hour lessons for $25 by an individual at their place. It sounded a lot like the place where I took lessons as a teen, it wasn't a big fancy stable.