The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Artwork (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-artwork/)
-   -   What do you think of my sketches? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-artwork/what-do-you-think-my-sketches-271769/)

Asimina 09-06-2013 11:02 AM

What do you think of my sketches?

5 Attachment(s)
SO recently i decided to start teaching myself how to draw, and I want someone else's opinion besides my own. I see improvement, but i know i still have a ways to go.
While I'd love to hear nothing but praise, I do want to know what could use improvement. It'd be wonderful to get some advice and critique! :)
Anyway, some of the poses are awkward, there are stray pencil lines, and i'm still learning to shade, but here they are!(this is not all of them, these are the ones that are not complete disasters haha). I'm posting them in chronological order to show the improvement i've made so far.
(i don't have access to a scanner right now, so i had to use my iphone camera- some of the wonky proportions might be from that haha)

Asimina 09-06-2013 11:06 AM

The first one i drew about a month ago(it was pretty much the first one)

The third one really does have the huge out of proportion head in reality haha that's not a bad camera angle. I'm pretty happy with it though because it was my first time really trying to do something from a different perspective than straight at the side

The last two, i'm pretty pleased with, i think they really show a lot of improvement. I think the second to last is better drawn, but the last one(despite the ugly head) is shaded better. I drew the last one yesterday and shaded today.

Zexious 09-06-2013 12:34 PM

I'm not very good with critiques, but I will give it a go...

Overall, very nice. Way better than I could do!

I would suggest working on the joints and musculature. The legs look a bit too "stickish" and the bodies a bit too blobish... If that makes sense.

Horsesdontlie 09-06-2013 12:56 PM