The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   New Pasture (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/new-pasture-27280/)

trailgurl 05-05-2009 11:39 AM

New Pasture

Hi everyone - I am really a newbie to the forum and to horses.

We are in a position to get 2 horses, we have about 3 acres that is zoned for 2 horses at our primary residence. We also have a weekend home that is a farm (no-working) that is about 100 acres, of course we can do whatever we like there. The land is all cleared except for hedgerows and has an old barn with stalls.

The 3 acres is where we will keep the horses most of the time and we will trailer them up home to ride on some weekends. I need advice on how to setup the pasture. 3/4 acre is woods--rustic never cleared and very wild, no paths. The property is longer than wider and the back length has a thick row of pines that belong to us as a privacy/windbreak. In front of the pines is a small orchard of about 15 trees, apple, pear, and white walnuts and chestnuts, and 2 huge grapevines. The rest is grassy but with lots of trees--white birches and pines.

We want to get rid of most of the lawn and only keep a small piece in front of the house.

Do we have to clear all the trees? I read that in the UK horses are allowed to graze in the orchards.

thks for any info and feedback -

kitten_Val 05-05-2009 12:15 PM

I did clear most of the trees and bushes, but we had lots of rotten trees and several cherries (which are not good for horses from what I know). I still left those nice trees for the shade. I also divided the back property into 2 parts: smaller one is nice pasture and I keep it closed over the winter, also it close to the house, so it looks nice. The bigger part is where my horses are most of the time with barn, water, hay feeder etc. I'd never imagine HOW fast they can make a mud out of nice leveled area. :shock:

walkinthewalk 05-05-2009 12:40 PM