The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Natural Horsemanship (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/)
-   -   Beginner Horse Owner Questions (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/beginner-horse-owner-questions-27356/)

Peacefuldweller 05-06-2009 04:41 PM

Beginner Horse Owner Questions

Hi there everyone! I'm a beginner horse owner---my husband and I have always dreamed of owning horses and after having moved in and renovating a home on 5 acres of land, we though it was high time to fulfill that dream.

We spent some time researching and looking for two horses (as we each wanted to learn to ride them for pleasure, on trails, etc.) and knew we'd want them with easy-going temperments that would be good for beginners.

We found two horses that seemed absolutely perfect for what we were looking for. We went to the farm where they were located, watched them interact with the other horses, spoke with the owners for a couple of hours and asked a ton of questions, and rode the horses ourselves. They each seemed very laid-back and affectionate. We went ahead and purchased them and had them brought out to our home approximately three days ago.

Since then, we've been having a bit of a problem out of one of our horses...

Sarge is a 9 yr. old gelding quarterhorse. He had been with the family we had purchased him from for just a little over a month but apparently had formed a strong bond with their family. He was originally intended to be the horse for their 7 year old daughter (who we watched ride with ease!) and of the two we purchased, we were most comfortable with him.