The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   Over Reach and Boots (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/over-reach-boots-27359/)

Appy Luvr 05-06-2009 06:09 PM

Over Reach and Boots

I'm back with more questions :lol:
I've noticed my 2 yr old clips her front feet with her back. She needs a trim so that's part of it (it's impossible to get a farrier during calving season:roll:) and she'll be getting one soon but other than that, what causes a horse to do this?
I've never used boots before but I'm thinking of getting some to use with her when I am working with her. What kind should I get? SMBs seem to be the popular choice from what I've read but what kind? I, II or Elites? Are the Overreach boots that go with these a good choice for her?
I'm going to start some small jumping with with my 10 yr old, would SMBs be a good choice for him as well?

KTSpeedhorse 05-06-2009 06:50 PM

I like the SMB's. They seem to be pretty durable and nice and smooth on the inside. Where are you in Montana? I'm in Helena. I know what you mean about finding a ferrier during calving season. My guy is super busy. I got lucky on Monday and was able to track him down though : )

eventnwithwinston 05-06-2009 07:13 PM

When a horse over reaches, it is often his hind toe "grabbing" the heel of the front. Sometimes the hind toe can even pull a shoe. Overreaching doesnt really affect his canon and the area where you put SMBS or splint boots, just his heels, coronet, fetlock and shoe. If a horse forges it is just when the hind foot strikes the front foot. Most likely the result of long toes.

For both faults, I would use bell boots. They keep the horse from grabbing his heep, pulling his shoe off, or bruising his coronet.

:) Eventnwithwinston

Appy Luvr 05-06-2009 07:58 PM

KTSpeedhorse, I'm over by Baker, Eastern Montana.

StormyBlues 05-06-2009 11:01 PM