The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Conformation Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-conformation-critique/)
-   -   Potential Buy/ Ex Racer (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-conformation-critique/potential-buy-ex-racer-274825/)

IquitosARG10 09-11-2013 04:38 PM

Potential Buy/ Ex Racer

There is something about this guy that I just really like! He has interesting breeding too, which I like.

I was wondering what you all think about his confirmation as far as being successful in the dressage ring. I don't plan on showing to the highest levels, but I would like to get up to at least schooling 3rd level - and surpass if we possess the ability.

I'm not very good at picking out a strong hip or shoulder angle. The only thing undesirable I can pick out is maybe a steep croup? Which I read can affect the movement of his hocks and ultimate ability to effectively work off his hind end.

Thanks in advance for you thoughts!

Zulu Warrior - well bred dark bay gelding

jaydee 09-11-2013 06:16 PM

Hard to tell from either video but he seems a bit stiff in his back end movement. The steepness of his croup will affect how well he can use himself from behind to create the impulsion needed for dressage but how seriously do you want to compete - what sort of level?
His racing breeding really has no impact on his ability to be a dressage horse unless any of his siblings went on the perform well in that sport

IquitosARG10 09-11-2013 06:27 PM

Oh I know, it's just fun that he has such impressive breeding!!

I would like to be competitive enough to be able to have fun at shows and have a decent chance to win - but I don't plan on anything more than local, rated shows. Also - I don't plan on showing every weekend - just a few in the summer.

What I really want is a good horse to learn on and that I can bring along to his full potential. Maybe schooling 3rd level?

Thanks for you feedback - not sure if all of that made any sense :p

jaydee 09-11-2013 06:32 PM