The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   Working with a horse with cushings (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/working-horse-cushings-27691/)

knaskedov 05-12-2009 08:36 PM

Working with a horse with cushings

Iím helping a friend with her horse now that my horse is on stall rest; he has 2 more weeks to go.
Due to personal circumstances she hasnít had the time to spend with him and heís been ďon vacationĒ for about 6 months now. Problem is, he has cushings and I have no experience with that. He is on medication and seems fine, but I find him to be very lazy and am not sure if thatís him or the cushings.
He is known to have attitude problems and I was expecting to have to be careful (not planning on getting hurt on a horse that is not my own), but I find I have more problems keeping him going then keeping him calm.
I started with him last Friday, lunged him and rode him for a while, he was okay. Then I gave him the weekend off and worked with him again yesterday. He didnít seem very enthusiastic (sarcasm).
I understand we have to take it slow, since he hasnít been worked for so long and I was planning on giving him 2 days off in between sessions.
Is it possible to work a horse with cushings, is he just lazy or should I let him set the pace and just give him some exercise occasionally?
He is about 17-18 years old, Warmblood and does dressage.

Peggysue 05-12-2009 11:41 PM

why has he been on stall rest???

knaskedov 05-13-2009 01:31 AM

My guy is on stall rest because he got kicked in the shoulder during play time almost 2 months ago now. He likely (cannot take x-rays because of the location) has a hairline fracture in his shoulder and has been out on 8 weeks stall rest to give him time to heal. He'll be good to go (if the vet releases him) in another 2 weeks.