The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Hunters and Hunter Seat Equitation (http://www.horseforum.com/hunters-hunter-seat-equitation/)
-   -   I keep falling forward while on 2-point! (http://www.horseforum.com/hunters-hunter-seat-equitation/i-keep-falling-forward-while-2-a-277626/)

PasoLargo 09-16-2013 06:45 PM

I keep falling forward while on 2-point!

Hi everyone! I just joined today and I am so happy to have found this fount of knowledge! I just started riding again about 4 months ago after 22 years off the saddle. I grew up riding paso fino horses in Puerto Rico, and I have now ventured into the beautiful world of English riding.

Needless to say it's been quite eye opening to learn about posting diagonals, walking without looking like my lesson horse is half asleep, keeping contact with the bit, sitting trots (woooo bouncy!), cantering on a correct lead and of course, 2-point position. Ya mean I don't just get up on my stirrups and stick my butt out :shock:?

I've been doing yoga and stability ball exercises to help build core strength and balance, and it has helped. But I keep falling forward after going over cavaletti. The first 2 poles I'm ok, but on the 3rd one I just become a total mess and fall forward, having to grab the horse's neck for balance.

It was ok while I was going over them at trot. I was able to keep mostly upright. But last week I tried it while cantering. I went over the first 2 poles beautifully then the last one I ended up falling out of my stirrups and hanging onto the side of my lesson OTTB like I was Spiderwoman climbing a building. Thankfully I righted myself back up so I didn't end up eating dirt. It was a spectacular save that got me props with the girls at the barn, but I'm not trying to be a stunt rider here lol!