Cross Country Leads
Hi! I was just wondering about your leads on cross country... Do you have to be on the correct lead in cross country or a hunter derby? I am interested in both and was wondering about the leads. Thanks in advance!
I don't pay any attention to my leads when on cross country. As long as my horse is balanced, we are fine. I always jump straight to the jump and am not yet at a level where curved lines are necessary, therefore his lead isn't super important.
Thank you so much! I don't normally either, but I was wondering if you would get points off for that. I didn't think so, but was just checking. Thanks again!!!!!!!!
For cross country you only get penalties for time and refusals, so leads don't matter. Same with a jumper derby, it's all about time and rails down.
In a hunter derby though, it is judged like a hunter round, so you will lose points for the incorrect lead, swapping leads before a jump, cross cantering, etc.
Thank you so much! That is what I thought, but just wanted to make sure before I went out and did one. :)
Yes! I can think of one case where I wish I had factored the correct lead into my XC round. I had jumped fence 4 and was hauling butt. It was only about 4 strides to a sharp 90 degree left turn. Horsie was on the right lead, so we blew the turn and made a very wide crooked left turn to fence 5 which was only another few strides away. I couldn't get my horse straight in time and he ran out. All my fault, and would have moved up many spots if we hadn't blown that one. I can't think of any other instance where leads would count, but if you have a sharp turn, it certainly would be nice to be on the proper lead.
My job is to help the horse balance and steer. His job is to go where I say and jump what is in front of him. How he does it is his business. Obviously I will do what I can to help him, but it IS his job.
I do not worry about leads. A horse can turn on the wrong lead if he is truly balanced, and he can jump just fine off the "wrong" lead or even a cross canter. Do NOT think about leads--worry about the balance. If he is balanced and you set him up for a turn, he will probably swap on his own. If he doesn't your job to balance him is a bit harder. You do it anyway because he is YOUR job, just as it is his to turn anyway and jump anyway.
Thank you guys so much! That helps more than you know! I appreciate it so much!!!!!!!!
|All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:24 PM.|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.