The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Bucking Gets You Nothing (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/bucking-gets-you-nothing-278553/)

Eolith 09-18-2013 12:59 AM

Bucking Gets You Nothing

I've been working a lot lately with Eva, my 7 yr old mustang mare. She has been under saddle for about 6 months now, and we're still working out some of the greenie kinks. One of which involves bucking.

She has bucked me off a total of three times, all a month or more apart. The first time I think she did it mostly because she was spooked and genuinely afraid, but the second time and the most recent occasion (earlier today) seemed more like a temper tantrum because I was asking her to slow down when she wanted to fly around out of control. Unfortunately I'm not very good at sticking when she bucks. I can ride our warmblood mare's bucks all day, and I've done fine with the occasional buck from other horses... but something about Eva's bucks are just bad news for me.

My biggest concern is trying to make sure that Eva doesn't start to think of bucking as a convenient way to dump her rider and get out of doing what she is being asked to do. Every single time that she has bucked me off, I have calmly caught her, longed her and then gotten back on for another 15-20 minutes to finish the ride. I longe her until she is paying attention to my cues and not flying around out of control, then get back on. I don't work her into the ground, but I do make her work.