The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Western Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/)
-   -   Drill Team (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/drill-team-279322/)

caisiemay 09-19-2013 10:49 AM

Drill Team

Hi friends!

I'm a beginner but I've always dreamed of being in my local drill team. I can't find any resources for it and it seems to be 'invite only'. So in the meantime I'm looking for any tips and activities I can practice to get myself and my mare ready for the drill team. I stared with a plastic bag on a pole to get her used to the sound and will be starting with a flag soon.

Thanks!

BarrelracingArabian 09-19-2013 11:47 AM

Take her out to rodeos and such to get used to all the noises and busy settings. Practice one handed ques, circles stops etc.

caisiemay 09-19-2013 12:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BarrelracingArabian (Post 3673762)
Take her out to rodeos and such to get used to all the noises and busy settings.

Like I said, I'm a beginner so this may seem like a silly question. You're allowed to bring a horse to the rodeo even if they aren't competing? I've been bringing her to fun gymkhana sessions where they play music and there's about 20 people with their horses at the arena so it does get a bit loud.

GamingGrrl 09-19-2013 12:29 PM

Work on speed control in all the gaits too. Be able to get her to slow and quicken her gaits using your seat.
Make sure she has a super solid stop as well.

Maybe google and see if you have any drill clinics in your area?
Posted via Mobile Device

caisiemay 09-19-2013 01:16 PM

We've been working on slowing and quickening with the seat lots, glad that'll help! She has a very fast stop when she's being lunged but it's not as fast when I'm in the saddle, so we will work on that.
I've been googling around and can't find anything nearby, I live in a small town and unfortunately don't have the means to haul her elsewhere right now.

KayceeJo 09-20-2013 03:06 PM