The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Jumping (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/)
-   -   a bit ewe necked... (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/bit-ewe-necked-28057/)

hotreddun 05-19-2009 02:25 PM

a bit ewe necked...

My new horse has a tendency to want to be ewe necked (sp?). He does flex down in to the bit under saddle after gently squeezing my fist around the reins...like squeezing a sponge...and circle work. But he always starts out the next ride ewe necked again. He also has a tendency to fall in the circle on his left lead.

He is under muscled...due to the seller not working him for about 6 months prior to me buying. I thought unsaddled work might help so that he could feel how to use his body without me in the saddle to worry about...also I thought I could do it during the day with my daughter in one arm.

I thought maybe side reins? I've never worked with side reins before...as I have always been the "ride it out" kind of person. Would side reins help this problem? I was thinking maybe 15 minutes 3 mornings a week in side reins in the round pen?

eventerdrew 05-19-2009 02:39 PM

i think the term ewe necked is referring to the muscling and conformation of a horse's neck, not just how he holds it....

but anyway... side reins would definitely help him. it makes him gain muscle in his topline so he feels more comfortable putting his head in a frame. start out slow. Since this horse is undermuscled, let him get used to the idea of just going up a few holes. in other words- don't just crank it and make him put his head in a frame. that will hurt even more. But i'm sure you knew that!

every couple of days/weeks (whichever makes him more comfortable and it depends on how fast he builds muscle) bump the holes up.

good luck!

hotreddun 05-19-2009 02:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by eventerdrew (Post 310005)
i think the term ewe necked is referring to the muscling and conformation of a horse's neck, not just how he holds it....