The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   Aussie saddles? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/aussie-saddles-283426/)

evilamc 09-25-2013 08:05 PM

Aussie saddles?

1 Attachment(s)
So, it's been suggested to me to try a western/aussie saddle for a little added security with my horse (long story we wont go there lol!). I don't show...so I don't see any reason not to try one kinda...Right now we ride in a dressage saddle and I like fiddling around trying to teach him a little dressage and how to use himself correctly...but we pretty much just trail ride and we're trying to do more judged trail rides...so I feel like I could probably do the fiddling around in any saddle...

SO

Help me understand these saddles more? I'm a total noob when it comes to western/aussie...I've never even girthed one up LOL

I've figured out the seat size differences so I don't need help there...but I can not figure out the tree size differences? My dressage saddle has a wide tree, my fitter believes hes inbetween a medwide/wide tree though so we shim my pad to help the wide have a better fit. So what the heck would that be in an aussie saddle or western?! I'm so confused by this qhbar measurements lol. Also some of the aussie saddles I'm looking at just come in like a reg size...and a wide size? like 18" or 18"W...

Please educate me!? I've been googling for awhile but can't seem to figure out the right thing to google!

Not to mention I've had quite a few people tell me he belongs in a western saddle LMAO, pfft whatever hes adorable in anything I put on him. Including safety vests.

https://scontent-b-iad.xx.fbcdn.net/...36331517_n.jpg

bsms 09-25-2013 08:25 PM

A little on Australian-style saddles. I say Australian style, because genuine made in Australia stock saddles start at around $3000 and go up fast.