The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Shows (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-shows/)
-   -   Intro (Horse) or Intro (Rider)?? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-shows/intro-horse-intro-rider-28673/)

Hoofprints in the Sand 05-30-2009 09:34 AM

Intro (Horse) or Intro (Rider)??

I'm entering my first ever show, an Eventer Mini Trial, June 21st, and I know I'm going to start out in the Intro level class, since it'll be my first show ever, I've only been riding for 2 1/2 years now, and only been jumping for about the last 2 months. So I'm very new to everything...so just going by my inexperience, I'd want to join the "Intro (Rider)" class.

HOWEVER, my horse was "green broke" when I got her 7 months ago so SHE is new to everything too! She just started learning to jump when I did, about 2 months ago. We've only been working on her dressage for 6-7 months now. She has also never been to a show before, so going on THAT I'd want to join the "Intro (Horse) class"!

I can only join 1 class, and I'm having a hard time choosing lol...here are the pro's and con's of each for me:

Intro (Horse):
* Pro - The judges are a little easier on the horse and the way she moves, which is good since my horse is so new to everything and her dressage isn't all that great yet.
* Pro - Most of the little kids will not join this class, they'll be in Intro (Rider) so I won't have to feel funny about competing against kids since I'm 29!
* Con - Professional riders often join this class to show their inexperienced horses, and obviously they'll be a LOT better than me and my inexperienced horse

Intro (Rider):
*Pro - The judges are more forgiving of the rider themselves since they're new to showing.
*Pro - Professional riders can't join this class
*Con - Not sure whether they separate ages or not, but if not, I'm going to feel very out of place and like I'm almost "cheating" competing against 8-year olds when I'm 29, since most of the kids tend to be in this class!