The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   New to Horses (http://www.horseforum.com/new-horses/)
-   -   Confusion about use of legs in riding! (http://www.horseforum.com/new-horses/confusion-about-use-legs-riding-288010/)

crimmo14 10-03-2013 10:56 PM

Confusion about use of legs in riding!

Hi everyone,

I am new to all this so excuse my ignorance. I am extremely confused about using the legs when riding a horse. My grandfather who is a bronco champion told me to squeeze left gently and pull the left rein to go left. likewise, to go right, squeeze right and pull right. It seems to work well.

Since then I have read from various good sources that you should squeeze on the opposite side to the rein.

I am so confused and my horse is the victim of my incompetence so please help me!

Please explain your answer I need very detailed info sorry!

tinyliny 10-03-2013 11:24 PM

in one way of thinking, your grandpa is probably more or less right. the left leg and left rein can be thought of as the rein saying "go left" is a direct rein and the left leg squeezing could be thought of more as a firm support , around which the horse curves and moves his body, like curling around a pole. That's one way of turning.
If you were to use the left rein (direction) and the right leg (drive), the horse would move away from that "outside" (it's on the outside o the arc that you are forming toward the left) and would got leftward, but perhaps in more a pivot manner, swinging the front end over, rather than arcing around the inside leg.

all this is overly complex for someone who is just starting. A simple way to think of it would be to put both legs on just long enough for the horse to get some increased energy from that, and use the left rein to go left. that is pretty simple and for starters only. remember to look in the direction you want to go, and if you turn your upper body somewhat toward that, you'll feel your hips turn and it brings your outside leg a bit firmer agains the saddle.