The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Barn Maintenance (http://www.horseforum.com/barn-maintenance/)
-   -   Bought a horse farm STALLS ARE HORRIBLE (http://www.horseforum.com/barn-maintenance/bought-horse-farm-stalls-horrible-288706/)

4horseranch 10-05-2013 12:40 PM

Bought a horse farm STALLS ARE HORRIBLE

1 Attachment(s)
Hello, i am new to horse forum. my wife and i just purchased a small 4.5 acre horse ranch/farm. I am new to horses my wife isnt, but my problem are the horse stalls, they are horrible, looks like the old owner tore all the good stuff out and replaced with just crap, and the floors are dirt, and full of manure and urine and i cant put my horses in them, i need some advice, or build, material list, or what wood and thickness is best!! any help would be much appreciated!!

Dreamcatcher Arabians 10-05-2013 12:52 PM

MANURE FORK, regular/mini-tine, basic/motorized, easier cleaning

I LOVE my Shake N Fork. Even if you don't buy the one that shakes, buy the Flex N Fork. These forks are the most durable I've ever had.

Your stalls don't look all that bad to me, a LOT of older barns are built like that. Just clean them out real good, put down a layer of small gravel (3" deep) and put good rubber mats over that and some bedding on the mats and you'll be good to go.

If you find you have a kicker who breaks the divider wall boards, you can stick a thick layer of insulation in there and cover it with 1/2 inch particle board (paint it first so it won't soak up urine). That way, they may kick and leave a small hole or dent in the board but won't usually kick through.

What is in there right now is serviceable until you replace it with a stall that's more to your liking. I actually kind of like the boards though, they encourage air flow which will keep the ammonia smell down.

Chevaux 10-05-2013 01:01 PM