The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Basic flat work excercies (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/basic-flat-work-excercies-289402/)

hoofbeatsaremyheartbeats7 10-06-2013 02:41 PM

Basic flat work excercies

I have been riding my friends horse basically as a kind of half lease since she doesn't have enough time for him. I am used to riding in a lesson where the coach is always telling me what to do and I dont want to get stuck just warming up trotting and cantering around the rung for a while cooling out and heading home! I want to actually work on stuff and improve!

We won't be jumping, he (the horse) and my friend have done some beginner/intermediate level dressage so i just want to work on improving my basic flatwork. As a basic idea of our level, I have been riding for a couple years, I have barely done any jumping but am at a level in flatwork where I could learn if I wanted to. The horse is more experienced than me, he is much more responsive than the old schoolies I am used to and has done more advanced things than I have so hopefully my rieing can improve with him!

So if you have any ideas of things I can do with him that would be great! I have some ideas, this is what I do:

Leg yielding
Smooth transitions
Smooth constant pace
Simple lead changes
Lots of circles and serpentines to work on flexion
My balance
Steering with my legs and weight
Framing/being on the bit (that's a big one any advice would be appreciated!)

Any ideas of things I could do with him would be great thank you!
Posted via Mobile Device

sorral3 10-09-2013 03:44 PM

I think the list you put up are great areas to work on. Remember, riding needs to be fun, but safe so take it slow at first.

showjumperachel 10-10-2013 02:37 PM