The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Draft Horses (http://www.horseforum.com/draft-horses/)
-   -   I'm looking for a gray draft stallion or colt (http://www.horseforum.com/draft-horses/im-looking-gray-draft-stallion-colt-295682/)

Cherie 10-16-2013 10:25 AM

I'm looking for a gray draft stallion or colt

I am looking for a gray draft or half draft stud or yearling colt (not gelded).

I have looked at a couple of gray Percheron horses but they appear to be really low backed. I have driven and used a lot of Belgians but have not been around a lot of Percherons. Are they usually pretty low backed? How do they carry big riders?

The person wanting this stud wants to raise big, easy-going, gray horses weighing 1400 - 1600# out of gray AQHA mares. I do not guess I have seen any gray drafts other than Percherons. Is there anything else out there? A gray 1/2 draft would work, but I do not have any idea where to look for one.

Can anyone help enlighten me? I have no experience at all with drafts under saddle and no experience with Percherons at all.

Cherie

ladygodiva1228 10-16-2013 10:34 AM

Shires also come as grays.

DraftsForSale.com: Shire Horse For Sale - Fox Valley King Magnus

Clava 10-16-2013 10:39 AM

There are some cross percherons on this page being ridden
Gallery

I think they are good weight carriers.

How about Irish Drafts? Not as heavy or big but good weight carriers and often grey.

DraftyAiresMum 10-16-2013 10:46 AM

My boy is a Percheron cross (paint sire and Percheron dam) and he is a stout boy more than capable of carrying my 250lbs. His half-sister (who belongs to a friend) is built like a tank. She doesn't have very good conformation, though (marginally butt high, long back, sickle hocked...but all her faults come from their fugly sire).

I like Percheron crosses, and not just because I own one. They tend to be stout, good minded, using horses. Smrobs has a Percheron/QH who is turning into a decent horse (Taz, her 3yo).