The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Reining (http://www.horseforum.com/reining/)
-   -   Never trained a reiner??? (http://www.horseforum.com/reining/never-trained-reiner-296729/)

OffCourse 10-18-2013 11:12 AM

Never trained a reiner???

So the university I'm going to is letting me work with this young reiner. She is about 5 years old and already knows a lot. But she is sticky on couple things. I have worked with pleasure horses before and they liked the way i worked with the stock horses so they gave her to me to work with but i have no prior experience with resigners. any advice for working with her would be amazing!!!

frpulliam 10-22-2013 12:13 PM

Make sure your horse is soft from back to front. Lots of time in my program is spent on breaking down each part of the body and making sure each one moves independantly. If your horse gets tense circles can ease the tension. I flex all of mine at a walk trot and lope during circles to loosen the tension if it arises. Always remember that less is more. The harder you pull the harder you will have to pull.

SlideStop 10-22-2013 03:28 PM

What exactly is she "sticky" on?
Posted via Mobile Device

OffCourse 10-30-2013 08:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SlideStop (Post 3934082)
What exactly is she "sticky" on?
Posted via Mobile Device

She's is horrible with her left lead. some days she is an angel and will give it to me almost every time but then we have days like yesterday where i got it 3 times and every time was a huge process.
also holding her frame she gets it really nice but loses it really quick. i do the hold her until she shapes up and then release the pressure wait until she loses it then pick up again and etc.

she gets super quick in circles too

SlideStop 10-30-2013 10:51 PM

She really just needs a basic western tune up, I'd ride her like any other horse.