The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   How to get horse (and myself!) ready for foxhunting? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/how-get-horse-myself-ready-foxhunting-298073/)

kustico 10-20-2013 12:47 PM

How to get horse (and myself!) ready for foxhunting?

Hello!

I have a horse I bought a few weeks ago that I have been riding 3-4 times a week. He's a great guy, really responsive, and LOTS of endurance. I'd really like to start using him for different events but I'm not exactly the showing type. I ride english and I would consider myself intermediate, but I'm pretty much self taught so I know there is still a lot I need to learn.

My question is, how can I safely and properly get my horse in shape for fox hunting? According to his old owner, he was ridden about once every two weeks. He must think he's gone to boot camp haha! He isn't afraid of gunshots but can be spooky to things like deer, cars, etc. I'm trying to get him used to them by desensitizing him every day (although there is only so much you can do for deer). When I first got him he was pretty bad - bucking and rearing to get me off, grabbing the bit, refusing to stop, not listening to directional queues, going whatever speed he wanted/whenever he wanted, basically just doing whatever he wanted. In these past few weeks he has improved a LOT, but still usually acts up a little the first 30 minutes of riding him before he realizes he can't get away with it and settles down.

And just a side note, we wouldn't be chasing real foxes. :) Thanks!

boots 10-20-2013 01:25 PM

Trot, trot, trot. And lots of trotting helps. It helps both you and your horse.

Working up to 10 to 20 minutes cantering between long sets of trotting is good for their wind, and will get you very comfortable at that speed. Of course, you start and finish at the walk.